Posts Tagged ‘Mcdonalds Caught Uing the “M” word (i.e maple)’

McDonalds: Using the “M” Word (i.e. maple) in Vain

Wednesday, January 12th, 2011

oatmeal.mcdonaldsCredit: by Clare Leschin-Hoar,

McDonald’s Fruit & Maple Oatmeal ingredient list includes whole grain rolled oats, brown sugar, food starch-modified, salt, natural maple flavor with other natural flavor (plant source), barley malt extract, and caramel color. There is no mention of maple syrup in the list of ingredients. It seems as if the ball is in McDonald’s court.

Vermont Agency of Agriculture (VAA), who says the company’s new Fruit & Maple Oatmeal menu item does not actually contain any maple product. That’s a violation of Vermont’s stringent maple law, and could mean that McDonald’s will have to change ingredients or labeling. “It is illegal to use the word maple on a product unless the sweetener is 100 percent pure maple. Artificial maple flavoring should be clearly and conspicuously labeled on the principal panel with the term ‘artificial flavor’.”
Read more: